Class C network

What is Class C Network?
A class C network is the most common of the five computer network classes, referred to as A through E, in a classic network network addressing architecture. The class names are based on the division of 32 bits that are required for an IP address, with the first four indicating the address class in binary code:

A = 0
B = 10
C = 110
D = 1110
E = 1111
The class network architecture was used from 1981 to 1993 when classless inter-domain routing (CIDR) was introduced. The goal of this new architecture was to reduce the rapid growth of routing tables on routers across the Internet and to slow the inevitable depletion of IPv4 addresses.

Although the class network and class C network naming has been discontinued, it is still occasionally referred to by network administrators and IT staff. Some hardware and software components can reference them as well.

The class network originally used a 32-bit IPv4 address that only supported 254 independent networks. With a few large networks, such as the ARPANET (Advanced Research Projects Agency Network) and the large number of local networks in the early and mid-1980s, it quickly became clear that more addresses would be needed. For this reason, the class-based network methodology was introduced, which allows the following number of networks for each of the five classes:

A: 128 (27)
B: 16,384 (2nd14)
C: 2,097,152 (2nd21)
D is defined as multicast, while E was undefined and was retained for future use

Was the explanation to "Class C network"Helpful? Rate now:

Further explanations for the initial letter C